Book Review of My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult


photo (31)Title: My Sister’s Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Published: Washington Square Press on February 2005
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 423
Source: Gift

Rating: ImageImageImage 1/2 

From Goodreads:

 Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate—a life and a role that she has never challenged…until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves. 
My Sister’s Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child’s life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you? Once again, in My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult tackles a controversial real-life subject with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity.

My Review:  I was given this book and started reading it right away. I hadn’t seen the movie and didn’t even know much about the book. It was the first book I read by Jodi Picoult. This was a slow read for me, the book seemed to drag on and on. Although I did like the story overall, I found that the way the book was written made it harder to read. Each chapter is a different character and there are a lot of characters. It wasn’t to hard to keep track of everything, it just slowed me down when reading and I got a bit distracted and didn’t want to keep reading at times. A lot of the time it felt like the story wasn’t progressing because they kept going back in time so often.

Quotes: 

“I’m very sorry about that, Judge,” he says. “Anything for a ten-minute break, right?”

“You don’t love someone because they’re perfect,” she says. “You love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.”

One thought on “Book Review of My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

  1. Pingback: Monster Review-a-thon Wrap Up | Cait's True Life

Leave a Reply

