Book Review of Rules of Civility by Amor Towles


photo (32)Title: Rules of Civility
Author: Amor Towles
Published: Viking Penguin 2011
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 335
Source: Book Giveaway

Rating: ImageImage

From Goodreads:

 On the last night of 1937, twenty-five-year-old Katey Kontent is in a second-rate Greenwich Village jazz bar with her boardinghouse roommate stretching three dollars as far as it will go when Tinker Grey, a handsome banker with royal blue eyes and a tempered smile, happens to sit at the neighboring table. This chance encounter and its startling consequences propel Katey on a yearlong journey from a Wall Street secretarial pool toward the upper echelons of New York society and the executive suites of Condé Nast–rarefied environs where she will have little to rely upon other than a bracing wit and her own brand of cool nerve. 
Wooed in turn by a shy, principled multi-millionaire and an irrepressible Upper East Side ne’er-do-well, befriended by a single-minded widow who is a ahead of her time,and challenged by an imperious mentor, Katey experiences firsthand the poise secured by wealth and station and the failed aspirations that reside just below the surface. Even as she waits for circumstances to bring Tinker back into her life, she begins to realize how our most promising choices inevitably lay the groundwork for our regrets.

My Review:  Originally when I first found out that I would be receiving Rules of Civility I was interested in it. I didn’t know much about it, but I thought the cover looked intriguing. It took awhile to arrive and when it did it sat on my shelf for a while. Since I barely knew anything about it, it wasn’t high priority. Then I heard it was like The Great Gatsby and I also wanted to read that on as well. So I thought what better time to read both of them then a read-a-thon!  Lets get to my feelings about this book. The main character Katey was really boring, I couldn’t relate to her at all. The only characters that I found interesting were Tinker and Evelyn, and their story with too short. I found the book hard to get through, and sometimes wanted to stop reading it all together. Although there were some small glimpses of enjoyment in this book, overall I didn’t like it.

One thought on “Book Review of Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

  1. Pingback: Monster Review-a-thon Wrap Up | Cait's True Life

Leave a Reply

