Book Review of The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom


Title: The Five People You Meet In Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Published: Hyperion, Feb 27 2006
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 208
Source: Amazon.ca
Format: paperback
Rating: ImageImageImageImageImage

From Goodreads:

Eddie is a wounded war veteran, an old man who has lived, in his mind, an uninspired life. His job is fixing rides at a seaside amusement park. On his 83rd birthday, a tragic accident kills him as he tries to save a little girl from a falling cart. He awakes in the afterlife, where he learns that heaven is not a destination, but an answer. 
In heaven, five people explain your life to you. Some you knew, others may have been strangers. One by one, from childhood to soldier to old age, Eddie’s five people revisit their connections to him on earth, illuminating the mysteries of his “meaningless” life, and revealing the haunting secret behind the eternal question: “Why was I here?”

My Review:  This book has been on my reading list for a long time. I just recently bought it this summer and couldn’t wait to read it. I watched the TV movie when I was younger with my grandma and I loved it. The idea of the story is so interesting and really makes you think. Every time I read this book I always start to think if this really happens when you go to heaven who would my five people be. I know who I would want them too be, but I don’t think it works that way. Also I would pick something to do with books for my Heaven. Probably a beach house with book shelves full of great books on every wall. This book gave me goosebumps reading each of the stories of the people he meets. My favorite story has to be the one with his wife. I love, love, love there relationship and it reminds me of my own. I love that she said she could feel his love even all the way up in heaven. I recommend everyone read this book, the story will stay with you forever. At least that has been my experience.

Quotes: 

“This is the greatest gift God can give you: to understand what happened in your life. To have it explained. It is the peace you have been searching for.”

“Holding anger is a poison. It eats you from inside. We think that hating is a weapon that attacks the person who harmed us. But hatred is a curved blade. And the harm we do, we do to ourselves.”

“Life has to end. Love doesn’t.” 

One thought on “Book Review of The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

  1. Pingback: Monster Review-a-thon Wrap Up | Cait's True Life

Leave a Reply

