Book Review of Heaven Eyes by David Almond


Title: Heaven Eyes Image
Author: David Almond
Published: Delacorte Press 2001
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 233
Source: Gift
Format: Hardcover
Rating: ImageImageImageImageImage

From Goodreads:

 Erin Law and her friends are Damaged Children. At least that is the label given to them by Maureen, the woman who runs the orphanage that they live in. Damaged, Beyond Repair because they have no parents to take care of them. But Erin knows that if they care for each other they can put up with the psychologists, the social workers, the therapists — at least most of the time. Sometimes there is nothing left but to run away, to run for freedom. And that is what Erin and two friends do, run away one night downriver on a raft. What they find on their journey is stranger than you can imagine, maybe, and you might not think it’s true. But Erin will tell you it is all true. And the proof is a girl named Heaven Eyes, who sees through all the darkness in the world to the joy that lies beneath.

My Review: I was given this book about a year ago. I didnt know anything about it other then it was for younger ages 10+. I was looking for something small to read before my Fall Reading Challenge started. This book was very interesting and not at all what I expected. I really felt like a kid again, discovering things for the first time like the characters in the book. I loved reading about Heaven eyes innocents and the relationship between Erin and Heaven eyes. They had an instant attraction to each other, like magnets. Erin and January have a relationship that reminds me much of a relationship I had when i was a little older then the characters in the book. It reminded me of it as soon as I started reading and that’s one reason why I really enjoyed this book. I could relate to many part’s of it like friendship and the need for freedom, also not knowing where you belong. I would recommend this book to anyone who just wants a interesting short story.

Quotes:

“I’m glad you havent gone away alone,” I said.
“Me too.”

“I’ll be with you.” I said.
“I know that . I know you love me.”
“And that you love me.”
We stood there, holding each other.

Leave a Reply

