Book Review of The Funhouse by Dean Koontz


Title: The Funhouse  Image
Author: Dean Koontz
Published: 2007 by Headline Publishing Group
Genres: Fiction, Suspense
Pages: 313
Source: Local Library Sale back in 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Rating: ImageImageImageImage

From Goodreads:

 Once there was a girl who ran away and joined a traveling carnival. She married a man she grew to hate–and gave birth to a child so monstrous that she killed it with her own hands. Twenty-five years later, she has a new life and two normal children. But her past still haunts her–and now the carnival is coming back to town…

My Review: I really like reading books set in carnivals or theme parks. So I was excited to start this book. Right from the beginning I was really into the story. I thought it was really creepy but I really wanted to know what happened next. Despite my having to keep putting it down to do thing, It was a quick read. I liked all the characters and the way it was written you really get to understand why all the characters were the way they were. Which was a good thing in my opinion. There was a lot of topics going on in this book like religion, alcoholism and teen pregnancy. I only gave this book a 4 heart (or star) rating because the ending didn’t do it for me. We are being lead up to what I thought would be an epic and scary ending but I was disappointing to find out the the ending was quick like 50 pages max quick. There was huge suspense throughout the whole book which I loved but at the end I felt like the book just feel right off a cliff. The book could have used another 100 pages of a creepy, well played out ending and then I would have awarded it 5 hearts(or stars).

Quotes:

“Conrad Straker was a devout man. Without fail he said his prayers every night. But he didn’t pray to Jesus.”

“The things that happen to people in horror movies were so terrible that they made the scary things in life seem tame.”

“And during the past week she had been out every night, dating some guy named Buzz. Joey didnt know what Buzz’s last name was. Maybe it was Saw.

Movie: 

IMDb link

Four teenage friends spend the night in a carnival funhouse and are stalked by a deformed man in a Frankenstein mask.

Tomorrow (Saturday) Is movie night. We will be watching the ’80’s movie in the spirit of finishing the book. Its essentially the ending of the book turned into a movie, which is unfortunate because that’s the part i liked least.

If you’ve read The Funhouse by Dean Koontz let me know what you thought in the comments.

One thought on “Book Review of The Funhouse by Dean Koontz

  1. Pingback: Fall Reading Challenge Week One | Cait's True Life

Leave a Reply

