Book Review of Carrie by Stephen King


Title: Carrie Image
Author: Stephen King
Published: First Anchor Books Mass-Market Edition Sept. 2011
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 290
Source: Amazon.ca
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Rating: ImageImageImageImage

From Goodreads: 

The story of misfit high-school girl, Carrie White, who gradually discovers that she has telekinetic powers. Repressed by a domineering, ultra-religious mother and tormented by her peers at school, her efforts to fit in lead to a dramatic confrontation during the senior prom.

My Review: I used to watch the movie all the time when I was a teenager. When I heard the new movie was going to be coming out soon I decided that this would be the perfect time to finally read the book. I liked this book well enough just something about it (not sure what) made me think it only deserved a four heart(star) rating. I liked the way the story was told by different peoples points of views and newspaper articles and excerpts from books. A lot of parts were really sad and I felt so bad for Carrie. The book was depressing through and through. I did enjoy it though because i really do like Stephen king a whole lot. I think the problem may have been that the first book I read by Stephen King was Joyland (Newest work at the time) and then I read Carrie his first book. You have to keep that in mind when thinking about my rating. I will say this though the cover is beautiful, I really love the color. 

Quotes: 

“Catching posion ivy from urinating in the bushes and everyone finding out (hey, scratch-ass, your bum itch?)” 

“They were yelling and throwing sanitary napkin at her when I walked in. Throwing them like…like peanuts.” 

Leave a Reply

