Book Review of Between Here and April by Deborah Copaken Kogan


Title: Between Here and Aprilphoto (90)
Author: Deborah Copaken Kogan
Published: Algonquin Books (Oct. 7 2008)
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 277
Source: Amazon.ca
Format: Hardcover
Rating: ImageImageImageImage

From Goodreads: 

When a deep-rooted memory suddenly surfaces, Elizabeth Burns becomes obsessed with the long-ago disappearance of her childhood friend April Cassidy. Driven to investigate, Elizabeth discovers a thirty-five-year-old newspaper article revealing the details that had been hidden from her as a child: April’s mother, Adele, drove with her two young daughters deep into the woods where she killed first them and then herself. Elizabeth, now a mother herself, tracks down everyone–Adele Cassidy’s neighbor, her psychiatrist, her sister–who might give her the insight necessary to understand how a mother could commit such a monstrous crime. Elizabeth’s investigation leads her back to herself: her compromised marriage, her demanding children, her increasing self-doubt, her desire for more out of her own life, and finally to a fearsome reckoning with what it means to be a mother and wife.

My Thoughts: I decided to buy this book because it was on sale and the story sounded quite intriguing.  I thought the idea of the mystery sounded really good and I felt like i needed to know what happened to April. I normally dont read books with story lines heavy to do with mothers since i have issues with my own but I took a chance with this one. Although I did really like this book it was probably the saddest book ive ever read. I enjoyed reading about Adele Cassidy and wish she was the main character. I didnt really like the main character Elizabeth Burns a.k.a person with the most nicknames in the whole world. I just didnt feel for her what i did for Adele. I could understand and sympathize with Adele more because I have depression and understood where she was coming from some of the time. But i certainly didnt agree with most of what she did, but i felt a connection to her none the less. I would recommend this book, I think its an important read.

Quotes:

“I HATE IT! I screamed, now crying, now grabbing a pillow under my arm, now slamming the door to our bedroom behind me.”

“That’s nice, I said, picturing Debbie shuttling Dylan and Drew back and forth to soccer practice in her SUV, armed only with her wits and a giant frappuccino, before coming home to blow Daniel.”

“Now go. And tell Olivia I’m still waiting for my teeth. She shook a bony finger at me. A women can’t think without her teeth.”

Leave a Reply

